Matthew 25 Church

2016-brittney-church-welcome-5-of-7“Are you hungry?” “Here I made this for you.”

“Are you thirsty?” “Here you go.”

“How is your apartment?” “I found this and thought you might need it.”

“Aren’t you cold?” “Here are some clothes I don’t wear anymore.”

“Are you okay?” “I heard you were sick. Let me know if you need anything.”

“Are you bored or lonely?” “Please come to my house this weekend.”2016-brittney-church-welcome-2-of-72016-brittney-church-welcome-1-of-72016-brittney-church-welcome-3-of-7It has been less than two months since my arrival to Aomori Fukuin Christ Church. But in that time when I was hungry, they fed me in their homes, gave me food from their fields, brought me meals, and taught me how to cook. When I was thirsty, they made sure that my cup was filled with tea. When I was homeless, they helped me find and set up my home, and invited me over to their homes as well. When I was shivering, they took me shopping, made recommendations, and gave me clothes out of their own closests to prepare me for Aomori’s harsh winters. When I was sick, they visited me to ensure I was okay. When I felt “imprisoned” in my apartment, they took me on day trips or to their homes for times of fellowship.

2016-brittney-church-welcome-6-of-7God has truly blessed me with a church and body of Christ who love each other and desire to love the community the same way He loved us. They are a Matthew 25 Church.

“I was hungry and you fed me,
I was thirsty and you gave me a drink,
I was homeless and you gave me a room,
I was shivering and you gave me clothes,
I was sick and you stopped to visit,
I was in prison and you came to me.”     
Matthew 25:35-36 (Message) 

2016-brittney-church-welcome-7-of-7They have been vessels of God’s love to me so that I have never felt like a stranger but instead a member of their family.

2016-brittney-church-welcome-4-of-7Now, therefore, you are no longer strangers and foreigners, but fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God…” Ephesians 2:19 (NKJV)

Written by Brittney

 

Leave a Reply

